× Take our 30-second survey
The U.S. National Science Foundation and iDigBio are required to collect information on use of digitized collections-based specimen data. Please help us meet this requirement every time you use this search portal. Sustainability of the national digitization effort depends on evidence of data use! Maybe later.

Specimen Record

ContinentAsia
CountryIndonesia
State/ProvinceSumatra Utara
County/ParishLangkat Regency
LocalityAru Bay [teluk Ara]
Latitude4.12457
Longitude98.1206
Institution CodeUsnm
Collection CodeMamm
Catalog NumberUsnm 143588
Collected ByW. Abbott
Date Collected1905-12-26

From Recordset

http://collections.nmnh.si.edu

Public records of accessioned specimens and observations curated by the National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution. These data are from the Departments of Botany, Entomology, Invertebrate Zoology and Vertebrate Zoology (Amphibians & Reptiles, Birds, Fishes, and Mammals) and include more than 270,000 primary type specimen records.

Contacts

Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
Name Chris Tuccinardi
RoleInformation Management
Emailtuccinar@si.edu
Name Karen Reed
RoleData Manager
Emailreedk@si.edu
Name Jessica Bird
RoleCollections Information Manager
Emailbirdj@si.edu
Name Jeff Williams
RoleCollection Manager
Emailwilliamsjt@si.edu
Name Kenneth Tighe
RoleDatabase Coordinator
Emailtighek@si.edu
Name Brian Schmidt
RoleMuseum Specialist
Emailschmidtb@si.edu
Name Ingrid Rochon
RoleScientific Data Manager
Emailrochoni@si.edu
Name Thomas Orrell
RoleDeputy Director, Research Informatics Program
Emailorrellt@si.edu
Name Informatics Office
RoleIPT Administrator
Emailinformaticshelp@si.edu
  • Data
  • Flags
  • Raw
Taxonomy
Scientific NamePongo abelii
Higher ClassficationAnimalia, Chordata, Vertebrata, Mammalia, Eutheria, Primates, Haplorrhini, Hominidae
KingdomAnimalia
PhylumChordata
ClassMammalia
OrderPrimates
FamilyHominidae
GenusPongo
Specific Epithetabelii
Specimen
Catalog NumberUSNM 143588
PreparationsSkin; Skull; Skeleton
Individual Count1
Life StageAdult
SexMale
Institution CodeUSNM
Collection CodeMAMM
Occurrence IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3cbfe3be9-6bf8-4081-be2c-f3a04c3ce9b5
Dataset NameNMNH Extant Biology
Basis of RecordPreservedSpecimen
Type of ResourcePhysicalObject
Associated Media14679724; 14887804
Collection Event
Collected ByW. Abbott
Collector Number4595
Date Collected1905-12-26
Verbatim Date Collected26 Dec 1905
Year1905
Month12
Day26
Start Day of Year360
End Day of Year360
Locality
CountryIndonesia
State / ProvinceSumatra Utara
CountyLangkat Regency
Higher GeographyAsia, Indonesia, Sumatra Utara, Langkat Regency, Sumatra
ContinentAsia
IslandSumatra
LocalityAru Bay [Teluk Ara]
Decimal Latitude4.12457
Decimal Longitude98.1206
Georeference ProtocolGoogle Earth
Geodetic DatumWGS84
Other
Modified2022-02-08 09:53:00
IDhttp://n2t.net/ark:/65665/3cbfe3be9-6bf8-4081-be2c-f3a04c3ce9b5
dwc:datasetID7ddf754f-d193-4cc9-b351-99906754a03b
dwc:collectionIDurn:uuid:59e56a59-8615-4e0c-841d-eb88f3876b22
dwc:occurrenceStatusPRESENT
dwc:institutionIDurn:lsid:biocol.org:col:34871
specimen list